Week 00

Syllabus week! Tips for success.


Week 01

Machine learning tasks. Probability and statistics review. Computing tips, tricks, and resources.


Week 02

Introduction to supervised learning. Using linear regression for prediction. Estimating conditional means. Using lm(). Metrics for regression tasks. Data splits for model evaluation.


Week 03

k-nearest neighbors. Decision trees. Parametric versus nonparametric models. Using Categorical features and interactions.


Week 04

Bias-variane tradeoff. Regression overview.


Week 05

Introduction to classification. Probability models and the Bayes Classifier. k-nearest neighbors and decision trees again.


Week 06

Exam week!


Week 07

Specifics and metrics for binary classification. Logistic regression.


Week 08

Generative versus discriminative models. LDA, QDA, and Naive Bayes.


Week 09

Spring break!


Week 10

Resampling methods. Model tuning using cross-validation.


Week 11

Regularization with ridge and lasso. Deimension reduction.


Week 12

Ensemble methods. Bagging, random forest, and boosting.


Week 13

Exam week!


Week 14

Using machine learning for data analysis.


Week 15

Some quick thoughts on unsupervised learning.


Week 16

Work on analyses!


Week 17

Work on analyses!


Deadlines


Assignment Deadline Deadline Day System
Quiz 01 24-Jan Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 02 31-Jan Friday PrairieLearn
Exam 00A 2-Feb Sunday CBTF
Quiz 03 7-Feb Friday PrairieLearn
Exam 00B 7-Feb Friday CBTF
Quiz 04 14-Feb Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 05 21-Feb Friday PrairieLearn
Exam 01 28-Feb Friday CBTF
Graduate Quiz 01 28-Feb Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 06 6-Mar Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 07 13-Mar Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 08 27-Mar Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 09 3-Apr Friday PrairieLearn
Quiz 10 10-Apr Friday PrairieLearn
Exam 02 17-Apr Friday CBTF
Graduate Quiz 02 17-Apr Friday PrairieLearn
Analysis 01 IMRAD 24-Apr Friday Canvas
Analysis 01 Code 24-Apr Friday Canvas
Analysis 01 Quiz 24-Apr Friday PrairieLearn
Analysis 01 Reflection 1-May Friday Canvas
Analysis 02 IMRAD 1-May Friday Canvas
Analysis 02 Code 1-May Friday Canvas
Analysis 02 Quiz 1-May Friday PrairieLearn
Analysis 02 Reflection 8-May Friday Canvas
Analysis 03 IMRAD 8-May Friday Canvas
Analysis 03 Code 8-May Friday Canvas
Analysis 03 Quiz 8-May Friday PrairieLearn
Analysis 03 Reflection 12-May Tuesday Canvas